Home   Where we work   The Himalaya

The Himalaya

Within Nepal’s borders are 8 of the world’s 10 tallest mountains – the Eight-thousanders – including Mount Everest or as locals call it “Sagarmatha” or “Chomolungma”.

Himalaya: Abode of the snows
: Godess of the sky (or ocean)
Chomolungma: Mother of the universe

The Himalayan region covers a short distance of land between sea level and the tops of the tallest mountains in the world, pushed up by the collision of 2 land masses.

Nepal has always been a huge topic of study because of its geographical richness, variety of flora and fauna, and complex historical background. Inaccessible to foreigners until the 1950s and never colonised, Nepal also holds an ideal of Shangri La within the hearts of many.


Password Reset

Not to worry! Just type your email address here and we'll send you a new one.